Key Data in Material Certifications You Need to Notice

In the manufacturing industry, ensuring that the materials meet specified standards and requirements is essential for the safety and integrity of the product. Material certifications provide vital information about the composition and properties of materials, referring engineers and manufacturers in their decision-making processes. In this article, we explore the key elements of a material certification, especially paying attention to details such as chemical composition and mechanical properties.

1. Description

It means material grade. A material grade refers to a classification system used to categorize materials based on their chemical composition, physical properties, and intended applications.
The material grade classification systems of each country are different, such as Japan’s JIS, the United States’ AISI/SAE/ASTM, Germany’s DIN, China’s GB, etc.

2. Temper

Temper designations indicate how the alloy has been mechanically or thermally treated to achieve the properties desired. The first character in the temper designation (a capital letter, F, O, H, W, or T) indicates the class of treatment.
For example, the copper temper codes usually used are such as H02 for 1/2 hard, H03 for 3/4 hard, and H04 for full hard.

3. Chemical Composition

Chemical Composition is one of the fundamental aspects of a material certification that outlines the elemental constituents present in the material and their respective percentages. Understanding the chemical composition is crucial as it directly influences the material’s properties and suitability for specific applications.

4. Mechanical Properties

Mechanical properties are another critical aspect of material certifications, providing valuable insights into how a material behaves under various mechanical forces and conditions. Here are some key mechanical properties as below:

Tensile Strength

Tensile strength refers to the maximum stress a material can withstand without breaking when subjected to pulling forces. It is a measure of the material’s ability to resist deformation or failure under tension.
Higher tensile strength indicates greater resistance to pulling forces, making the material suitable for applications requiring high strength and durability.

Yield Strength

Yield strength indicates the maximum stress a material can withstand without undergoing permanent deformation. It is an important parameter that defines the onset of yielding or the point at which the material begins to deform plastically.
It is a critical consideration in structural design to ensure that materials can support anticipated loads without failing.


Elongation measures the amount of deformation a material undergoes before breaking under tensile stress. It is expressed as a percentage and represents the extent of ductility or the material’s ability to deform plastically before fracturing.
Materials with high elongation values exhibit greater ductility and are capable of undergoing substantial deformation before failure.


Hardness indicates the material’s ability to withstand surface abrasion or penetration by external forces. Various methods, such as Rockwell (HRC), Brinell (HB), and Vickers (HV) hardness tests, are used to quantify hardness based on different principles of indentation or penetration. Hardness values provided in material certifications offer valuable insights into the material’s wear resistance, machinability, and overall durability.

In conclusion, material certifications play a vital role in ensuring the quality, reliability, and performance of materials used in diverse industries. By paying attention to details such as chemical composition and mechanical properties, engineers, manufacturers, and project stakeholders can ensure adherence to industry standards and regulatory requirements.

You can find the photo display of the CNC machining parts made by us HERE!